My Christmas Lunch : Sofitel, Phnom Penh

With our budget out of the window for the festive season, we were all set upon treating ourselves to a free-flow champagne brunch at the Sofitel, Phnom Penh.

Tattinger Champagne, Christmas Brunch, Sofitel Phnom Penh

Oh go on then, twist my arm, I'll have a glass if you insist...

The entertainment was to consist of a jazz trio and a clown whose sole party trick seemed to consist of twsiting ballons into sausage dog shapes.

With a 12 o’clock kick-off scheduled, we arrived at 11.40 to discover service was already underway.

Damn it!

That misjudgement equated to a missed glass of champagne.  Schoolboy error.

The food was exceptionally good and in brief synopsis, my Christmas lunch (in exact course order) consisted of…

The seafood dishes:

Sashimi & Sashimi Chef, Sofitel Christmas Brunch, Phnom Penh

Sashimi & Sashimi Chef, Sofitel Christmas Brunch

1. 3x pieces sushi, 1x piece sashimi

2. 2x langoustines, 3x king prawns, 1x slice fish pate.

3. 2x self-served slices of baked salmon

A light salad “appetiser” to make a natural break between fishy stuff and meaty stuff.

Brunch pro’s will understand the necessity of these pauses for consumption considerations.

4. Roasted summer vegetables with beetroot and couscous

5. 2x carved pieces of roast lamb, fine beans wrapped in bacon, roast beetroot, gravy and fresh cranberry jus

Christmas Brunch Turkey, Sofitel Phnom Penh

Ha ha! I guess you voted for Christmas?

6. 2x carved pieces of turkey, roasted apple, green beans, carrot, broccoli, gravy

7. 3x huge chunks of roast beef, steamed vegetables

Another natural break required.

I slugged more champagne and gear up for my next incursion.

I couldn’t do more meat.  I wasn’t ready for dessert.

The Law of Brunch clearly states that you can’t go back to the seafood courses once you’ve hit the meat.  It is written.

The only thing for it then, steaming parcels of chinese delights…

Dim Sum, Sofitel Christmas Brunch, Phnom Penh

"Dim sum steaming on an open fire, Jack Frost nipping at your nose"

8. 3x pieces of Dim Sum

9. 1x scoop of mango sorbet

10. 3x scoops of rum & raisin ice-cream

11. 3x small choclates

12. A virtual trunks worth of chocolate log

This incredibly gluttonous mountain of food was washed down by at least a couple of  bottles of Tattinger Champagne and a sole glass of San Pelligrini sparkling water

Total cost USD $60 + Tax & Service.

I think we can say I got value out of Santa this Christmas.

Judging from the following photo, so too did “The Boy”.

The Boy asleep after eating

Merry "hic" Chrizzmuzz. You are my bez frend Dadda and you are my bez fren too everybody!

About misterkelvin

I searched, I failed. And then I accidentally found one in Ubud.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Christmas Lunch : Sofitel, Phnom Penh

  1. Alex says:

    I can understand how the sparkling water may have been mishtaken for a glass of Champagne. Other than that, sounds like perfection. Happy New Year to you and yours…

Leave a Reply

